2019: A Year in Review

Share this article

Another successful and busy year has wrapped up for hockey in Queensland!

Our Queensland teams competed at their respective National Championships with outstanding results and Team QLD spirit.
The U18 Women, U21 Women, and Brisbane Blaze Women all took home Gold at their tournaments, cementing Queensland as the state to beat for many years to come.
The inaugural Hockey One League season was a hit, with the Brisbane Blaze bringing home Gold and Silver for the Women and Men.
Our home games were a ‘smash-hit’ with Queenslanders, travelling spectators and teams. We would like to thank everyone for their involvement in this new league and of our teams and our spectators, families, officials, suppliers, sponsors, supporters and everyone in between. With your support we hope to continue to showcase Brisbane and the Blaze to the country, and grow our home events.

Queenslanders were well represented Internationally in all Australian teams. The Kookaburras were crowned the inaugural FIH Pro League champions and new world number one ranked team after a 3-2 victory against Belgium in Amstelveen.

The Hockeyroos pushed the world number one Netherlands all the way to a penalty shootout on their home soil, going down 4-3 after a 2-2 draw in regulation time.

The 2020 Australian Kookaburras Squad was named late in the year, with all 7 of our Queenslanders remaining in the squad. 5 Queenslanders were named in the Hockeyroo’s Squad for 2020. With the Tokyo Olympics fast approaching, we wish our men and women the best in their preparations.

The floods in Townsville at the beginning of the year were devastating, but it was a testament to THA and their community that everyone worked together to be ready for the start of the season. Townsville hosted a great U18 Men’s State Championships only months after the floods which was a great success.
In a wonderful display of #TeamQLD spirit, Townsville HA donated their damaged turf to Mount Isa HA, who were able to make good use of it.
Rockhampton HA hosted a spectacular Oceania Cup and Pacific Nations 5-a-side Tournament in September, which is one that will be remembered for a long time. Well done team!
The Indoor State events moved from Invitational to Championships this year, and as such went from strength to strength. Well done to Maryborough hockey on their new indoor facility and hosting 4 indoor state championships in a row.

HQ would like to give our 2019 State Championships Host Associations a huge thank you and well done.

The Women’s Masters contingent celebrated 35 years and claimed the Meg Wilson Trophy (for Most Successful State) at the Australian Women’s Masters Championships with 4 gold, 1 silver, 1 bronze, a 4th place, and a 6th place.

Congratulations to Angie Lambert who was inducted into Queensland Sport Hall of Fame at the QSport Awards Dinner. Congratulations as well to Aleisha Neumann and Adam Kearns who were appointed as Australian umpires to Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Brent Brown has been named on the FIH Technical International Panel. Steve Rogers was promoted to the Pro- League Umpiring Panel.

Lastly, Hockey QLD sends out a huge thank you to all volunteers across Qld who help make hockey a success from local to international level. Here’s to another successful year in 2020!

National Championships Results


Brisbane Blaze
Men: 2nd
Women: 1st

Country Men: 2nd
Country Women: 1st

U21 Men: 5th
U21 Women: 1st

U18 Men: 1st
U18 Women: 1st

U15 Boys
Maroon: 3rd
Gold: Equal 7th

U15 Girls
Maroon: 4th
Gold: 6th

U13 Boys
Cutters: 4th
Sabres: 7th

U13 Girls
Cinders: 1st
Embers: 2nd

35+: 5th
40+: 4th & 7th
45+: Div 1: 6th
Div 2: 5th
50+: Div 1: 5th
Div 2: 1st & 6th
55+: Div 1: 2nd
Div 2: 5th
60+: Div 1: 5th
Div 2: 2nd
65+: 2nd & 8th
70+: 4th
75+: 5th

35+: 1st
40+: 1st
45+: 1st
50+: 2nd
55+: 1st & 4th
60+: 3rd & 6th

Open Men: 4th
Open Women: 7th

U21 Men: 2nd
U21 Women: 5th

U18 Men: 2nd
U18 Women: 3rd

U15 Girls: 1st & 4th
U15 Boys: 5th & 7th

U13 Girls: 2nd & 4th
U13 Boys: 4th & 5th

Hockey Australia Squads


2020 National Olympic Squad
Matthew Swann
Jake Whetton
Daniel Beale
Dylan Wotherspoon
Jacob Anderson
Tim Howard
Corey Weyer

2020 National Development Squad
Hugh Pembroke
Joel Rintala
Matthew Finn
Blake Wotherspoon

National Junior Squad
Michael Francis
Luca Brown
Harrison Farrell
Cade Banditt

National Futures Squad
Michael Doan
Zac Profke
Liam Hart
Luke Randle
David Hubbard
Jayden Atkinson
Noah Gauci


2020 National Olympic Squad
Madison Fitzpatrick
Jodie Kenny
Steph Kershaw
Rosie Malone
Renee Taylor

2020 National Development Squad
Hannah Astbury
Ashlea Fey
Savannah Fitzpatrick
Morgan Gallagher
Rebecca Greiner
Meg Pearce
Britt Wilkinson

National Junior Squad
Hannah Astbury
Casey Dolkens
Dayle Dolkens
Kendra Fitzpatrick
Ruby Harris
Morgan Mathison

National Futures Squad
Claire Colwill
Jordn Office
Tatum Stewart
Jade Smith


Hockey Queensland Sponsors

Brisbane Blaze Sponsors